William’s Birthday…

I can’t say I was looking forward to the 15th of January. Last year I was on a plane to California about 3 sheets in the wind. This year, I thought I’d fly a Chinese lantern up in the night off my dock, but I couldn’t find one.

I had a doctors appointment early that morning and as I was driving my phone rang. The lady introduced herself as an advocate and wanted let me know the man who raped me had been arrested and charged, not only with that but with kidnapping. I started shaking and crying. I missed my turn and had to turn around.

Not only had he done this to me, but he had done this to another lady. He also committed armed robbery. He is only 19 years old. It said on the report that with the gun charges he could get life without parole.

For all of the this to happen on this very special day. A day that I was dreading. A day that if William were alive I would have had presents for him and cake. We would have gone out to eat or I would have cooked one of his favorite meals. But instead, he gave me a gift. A gift unlike any other gift. A gift of relief…

8 thoughts on “William’s Birthday…

Leave a Reply

